Local Government in Ireland

Find YOUR local authority

Cork City CouncilGalway City CouncilKerry County CouncilLaois County CouncilLouth County CouncilMayo County CouncilMeath County CouncilWestmeath County CouncilWicklow County CouncilClare County CouncilOffaly County CouncilDun Laoghaire Rathdown County CouncilSouth Dublin County CouncilDublin City CouncilFingal County CouncilCork County CouncilWexford County CouncilWaterford City & County CouncilTipperary County CouncilSligo County CouncilRoscommon County CouncilMonaghan County CouncilLongford County CouncilLeitrim County CouncilLimerick City & County CouncilKildare County CouncilKilkenny County CouncilGalway County CouncilDonegal County CouncilCavan County CouncilCarlow County Council

The current system of Local Government in the Republic of Ireland comprises of 31 Local Authorities. Local Government and the right of local self-government is a cornerstone of any modern democracy. Irish Local Authorities are the closest and most accessible form of Government to people in their local community. They also have responsibility for delivery of a wide range of services in their local area with a focus on making towns and cities attractive places to live, work and invest. 

These services generally include housing; planning; roads; water supply; environmental protection; provision of recreation and amenities and community infrastructure. Local Authorities also play a key role in supporting economic development and enterprise at a local level. 

Local Government support on the ground is critical to the success of many initiatives which drive local communities. These range from local festivals and events; design of streetscapes and village renewal schemes; support for micro-enterprises, business parks and incubation units; involvement in energy efficiency projects; promotion of rural broadband; planning for major investments in the green economy. 


Local Authorities in Ireland (Part 1)

Local Authorities in Ireland (Part 2)